5 to 9 Foodies

It's all in a day's work!

Watermelon-Lemonade Sorbet

6 Comments

Watermelon-Lemonade Sorbet

I promise I’m not crazy.  If you haven’t noticed, it’s kind of WARM today!  Warm being relative…if you’re not from Wisconsin or the Midwest, I suppose 36 degrees seems downright frigid.  But right now, it’s a heat wave.  And I’m taking full advantage of it with this simple and fresh sorbet.

I first tried Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream while visiting a friend in Columbus, Ohio. I ended up sampling a few more flavors than I care to admit. When I found out that Jeni had written an ice cream cookbook I had to have it.  I received Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home in the mail a couple of weeks ago and I will admit that this sorbet was not the first treat I wanted to make.  I was leaning towards something with rich chocolate, spicy cayenne, or maybe some cool peppermint.  You know, normal winter ice cream flavors….right?  My husband paged through the book, quickly bypassing the goat cheese, corn and raspberry, and coffee varieties.  He pointed at this sorbet and said “THIS!  I want this one!” So here it is…a delicious and summery sorbet to transport you to some place tropical.

Watermelon-Lemonade Sorbet
{Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream’s at Home, Jeni Britton Bauer}
Ice cream maker required*

1 small to medium watermelon
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (from 2 to 3 lemons)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup light corn syrup

If you’re using an ice cream maker with a freezing canister, make sure that you’ve had the canister in the freezer for 24 hours before making your sorbet. Keep it in there until you have all of your ingredients prepped per the directions below.

Watermelon-Lemonade Sorbet

1. Cut your watermelon up into 2-inch cubes to make about 4 cups of cubed watermelon.

2. Remove any black seeds (the soft white seeds should blend), and puree the melon in a food processor or blender. I used half of my smallish-medium watermelon and yielded 5 cups of watermelon puree. Put half of the puree (2-1/2 cups) into a medium bowl, and reserve the rest for another use. I put my extra puree in a freezer bag and will save it for more sorbet in the future.

3. Next, fill a large bowl with ice-cold water (one of the benefits of making this in the winter) and ice and set aside.

4. In a small saucepan, combine the lemon juice, sugar, and corn syrup and bring to a boil, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Remove from the heat once it reaches a boil.

5. Whisk the lemon syrup mixture into the pureed watermelon. Pour the mixture into a 1-gallon Ziploc freezer bag and submerge the sealed bag in the ice bath. Let stand until cold, about 20-30 minutes.

Watermelon-Lemonade Sorbet

6. Following the directions on your ice cream maker, pour the sorbet base into the frozen canister and spin until it is the consistency of a very softly whipped cream. This took my Kitchenaid Ice Cream Maker attachment about 8-10 minutes to achieve. At first I didn’t think anything was happening, but eventually the mixture starts to whip up.

7. Pack the sorbet into a storage container — do not keep it in the ice cream maker. Press a sheet of parchment or wax paper (don’t use plastic wrap as it can get stuck in the sorbet) onto the top of the sorbet, gently pressing out any bubbles. Seal with an air-tight lid and freeze until firm, at least 4 hours.  Or, you can eat it right away because it’s super soft and luscious.  And kind of irresistible.

Watermelon-Lemonade Sorbet

A couple notes: 

This was my first time using my ice cream attachment, so I set it at Speed 8 or 9 — which was a mistake!  It whipped too much air into the sorbet, making it crumbly after freezing, more like an Italian or Hawaiian ice. This wasn’t a problem because Nick happens to LOVE both, but next time around I plan to set it at STIR (Speed 1), the recommended setting, which should produce a smoother sorbet once frozen.

Per Busy in Brooklyn: If you don’t have an ice cream maker, pour the mixture onto a cookie sheet or baking dish and freeze until set. Break it up and blend in the food processor until smooth. Freeze and blend again for an ultra smooth consistency.

I purchased a Zak Designs Ice Cream 1 pint tub on Amazon, and this recipe filled it with a bit extra left (for taste-testing, of course).

Hope you enjoy the heat wave and the sorbet!

Jaime

6 thoughts on “Watermelon-Lemonade Sorbet

  1. This sounds delicious! Aaand small world, I actually just moved from Madison to a town north of Milwaukee and yep, it’s like a heat wave 🙂 I’ve been listening to the snow come crashing off the roof all day!

  2. Thanks, Elise! The flavor is perfectly tart — my husband has already had me make this a second time, and I’ve got leftover watermelon puree for even more! 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying Milwaukee and the beautiful temps while they last!

  3. Of course you would have a heat wave the week AFTER we left Madison!

  4. Sounds yummy!!!!

  5. Pingback: Saturday Stew: Some Favorites « 5-to-9 Foodies

Leave a Comment

