5 to 9 Foodies

It's all in a day's work!

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

7 Comments

Spicy Sweet Potato SoupEarlier this week I posted a recipe for Cinnamon Honeyed Pears to help fend off the mid-winter blues. If you are craving savory rather than sweet, this spicy sweet potato soup will do the trick!

It can be served with bread and salad for a light meal or, if you are in the mood for something more substantial, served over rice or quinoa.

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup
{Adapted from Allrecipes.com}
Serves 4

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds sweet potatoes
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 (2 inch) piece fresh ginger root, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon red curry paste
1 (15 ounce) can unsweetened coconut milk
3 cups vegetable broth
3 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Instructions

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Pierce sweet potatoes a few times with a fork and place in baking dish. Bake until tender enough to easily pierce with a fork, about 45 minutes turning once. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.

2. While potatoes are cooling, heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the chopped onion and ginger; cook until onions are translucent, about 5 minutes. Stir in the curry paste and heat for 1 minute. Whisk in the coconut milk and vegetable broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer for about 5 minutes.

3. Remove the skins from the sweet potatoes and cut into chunks. Add to the soup and cook for 5 -10 more minutes.

4. Pour half of soup mixture into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Repeat with second half and return all to cooking pot. Stir in lemon juice and season with salt.

5. Drizzle with a little bit of sesame oil and top with a sprig of cilantro. (Be careful not to over-do the sesame oil – its soooo good, but too much can overpower the other flavors.)

DSCN2531

XO – Rae

7 thoughts on “Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

  1. Coming soon to a table near me!

    I see that both this recipe and the carrot one following it talk about pureeing in batches in a blender or food processor. Do you have a stick blender? If not, you will love it! It saves hugely on the mess, and eliminates the inevitable wasted product you lose when you transfer it. The instructions say not to stick it in hot stuff, but as long as it’s a little bit cooled down, it’s fine. I stick it in hot stuff all the time. (Har har.)

    • Hi Verla! I hope you like the soup — I am hoping to make it soon, though Nick doesn’t necessarily “like” sweet potatoes. It just sounds so good! I do happen to have a stick blender, but I’ve always been afraid to use it — for some reason I’m convinced it’s going to scratch up the bottom of my pots and pans…

      The one time I used it, I stuck it right in some hot soup, so clearly I didn’t read the owner’s manual 🙂 Thanks for reading and hope the soup turns out deliciously!

  2. Wow, that was some tasty stuff!! My .02:

    1) I doubled the currry paste, but that’s just me. If you like it hot, don’t be shy.
    2) I used a tip I learned years ago on Martha Stewart–a spoon works great to peel ginger.
    3) If you’re timid about the stick blender, go to Goodwill and get a $2 pan, then “blend” some water in it until you get comfortable. I measured mine, and the blade is still 1/4″ away at its closest point to the bottom.
    4) To clean the blender dealy, set it up in a cup or bowl of water until time to wash, so it doesn’t get gross and crusty. Later, pour a couple drops dish soap in the water, reattach to motor, and “blend” the soapy water until the head is clean, then rinse.

    I will be looking for more of your recipes. I always want to cook but am not very good at figuring out what I should do. Much better for someone to say, “Hey, try this!”

    Thanks guys.

    • Verla, so glad you liked it! And thank you for sharing both your experience and your tips on the stick blender — I’m definitely going to give it a try soon. Any requests for future food posts? We like our readers to be happy! 🙂

      • If I could give you ideas for posts, I probably wouldn’t need to come to a blog to get ideas! I’ll think about it, though.

  3. Hi Ladies,

    Are you using toasted sesame oil? Or just ‘regular’? I have toasted oil that I use in stir fries, but it has a pretty strong flavor.

    I’m hoping to make this next week!

    Hilary

Leave a Comment

