5 to 9 Foodies

It's all in a day's work!

Almond Joy Popcorn

Leave a comment

I’m planning an EPIC Friday night this week.

Almond Joy Popcorn

It involves me, curled up in front of the TV with a glass of wine, a giant box of Kleenex, and Les Misérables.  There will be singing. There will be laughing.  And there will most definitely be weeping.  Seriously, I’m a HUGE sap when it comes to movies — I cried through the entirety of the new Planet of the Apes, no lie.  My husband asked me if we needed to leave the theater.  So,  I feel sorry for my neighbors this weekend. And my cat.

I decided I needed to counter all of that sadness with something…joyful.  As much as I would love to consume an entire bag of Almond Joys, I’m trying to eat better.  Enter popcorn.  Covered in Almond Joy ingredients.  Perfect, right?

Almond Joy Popcorn
{Popping method from Girl’s Gone Child}

1/2 cup popcorn kernels
4 tablespoons coconut oil, divided
Salt, to preference
1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips, divided
3/4 cup sweetened coconut flakes
1/2 cup slivered almonds

1. In a heavy-bottomed large pot (I used a dutch oven), heat 2 tablespoons of the coconut oil over medium heat.

2. Once oil is hot (about 4-5 minutes), put a kernel or two of corn into the pot and wait until they pop.  One of my pieces popped right out of the pot, and I definitely jumped.  In addition to being a crybaby, I’m also a scaredy cat…

Almond Joy Popcorn

3. Once the kernels have popped, add the rest of the corn, cover the pot, and gently shake over the burner until the corn stops popping for 5 seconds.  You don’t want to let it set over the heat longer than that because you’ll burn the kernels.  I think we’ve all experienced the torture that is ‘burned popcorn smell’, and no one wants that.

4. Remove the popcorn from the heat and pour into a large bowl.  Drizzle the remaining two tablespoons of coconut oil over the top and toss to coat.  If your oil isn’t in liquid form, just pop it it in the microwave to melt it.  Add desired amount of salt and toss.

5. Cover two edged-cookie sheets with parchment paper and pour the popcorn evenly onto the cookie sheets into a single layer.

6.  Melt 1/2 cup chocolate chips — I did this in the microwave using the directions from the package.  Using a microwave safe container, heat chocolate chips at 50% power for 1 to 1-1/2 minutes.  Stir until bowl no longer feels warm.  Continue heating at intervals of 15 to 30 seconds until smooth.  As a side note, I didn’t need to do any additional intervals.

7.  Evenly drizzle melted chocolate over both sheet pans of popcorn using a spoon.

8.  Sprinkle on the coconut flakes, followed by the almond slivers.

Almond Joy Popcorn

9.  Melt the other 1/2 cup of chocolate chips using the method described above.  Drizzle this evenly over the popcorn as you did before.  I did it this way to try and get the almonds and coconut flakes to stick better.  No matter what, you’ll still have some loose pieces of delicousness.

10.  Let the mixture set in the fridge for about 30 minutes.  Once it has set, break it up into pieces and enjoy!  Best served right away; but store any leftovers in an airtight lid in a dark/cool place.  But you should just be able to eat it all in one sitting and be happy.

Almond Joy Popcorn

Some notes:

-If you’re an Almond Joy connoisseur, you might be saying to yourself “Hey, Almond Joys are made with MILK chocolate; Mounds are made with dark!” And you’d be right. But that is something that has always bothered me about Almond Joys, so I took some creative license here. If you really insist on “authenticity” you can use milk chocolate. OR just eat an Almond Joy candy bar.

-I decided not to toast the coconut because I wanted it to have that softer, mushier feel like you get in an Almond Joy. If you want to try it toasted, go for it! It would probably be delicious.

-By all means, experiment! Add more coconut, more chocolate, more almonds — whatever you like most about an Almond Joy.  You could even add some mini chocolate chips on top.

Hope you enjoy!  We all know I’ll be eating an entire bowl of this on Friday, in between soaring ballads and soaked Kleenex…

xo Jaime

Leave a Comment

